Miro Journal Review

image

Miro notebooks are relatively new on the scene of premium journals. The company started in 2012 and their focus is on producing sustainable products for the artistic community.

I first heard about Miro when I came into the store and there was a new sample to take a look at. My first reaction was one of awe at the felt cover and as a fountain pen user I was curious to see how the paper would fair with my pens.

Waiting patiently has never been one of my strong suits,  but within a few weeks the order of Miro paper arrived and I bought a large selection so I could give the paper a try. The various covers once again blew my mind. Especially the wood cover. I expected it to be laminated and not feel like wood at all, but this cover is made from compressed wood fibers and has a warm and rough texture of unfinished wood.

image

The paper was also a pleasant surprise.  As you can see from the above photo it performed amazingly with a variety of different inks and types of pens. I used Noodler’s, J. Herbin, Diamine, and Private Reserve and they all worked amazingly. There was little tonne feathering and if you look at the below photo almost no bleed through and there is only a light shadow of the text showing through from the other page. Considering how light this paper feels I didn’t expect it to respond so well under the assault if so many different inks.

image

I cannot recommend these journals enough. With all of the different covers there is definitely something for everyone and they also produce hardback journals too. The only thing you need to know is that the wood and felt covers are a little more expensive then the canvas and soft touch, but for the uniqueness of the product I think the price is more than worth it.

Leave a Reply

